Woof-baby blues

13 Feb

Let me begin by saying that I love my dog. LOVE my dog. She’s my protectress and buddy and is the sweetest thing ever. But lately, it’s not always bliss between us. You know how in the book Marley and Me, the mom has postpartum depression and flips out one day and wants to get rid of the dog? Yeah, I’ve been there several times already, and today was one of those days.

As soon as I got z-baby down for a nap, she barks and wakes him up. I let her out to go to the bathroom and she takes off chasing a squirrel. I call and call and nothing. It’s freezing outside and I have the baby who doesn’t want to be alone and won’t do a pack-in-play or walker or exersaucer, so I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to go get this damn dog because it’s too cold to take the baby out. I go back and forth between leaving her and looking for her, when she finally trots back to the back porch. Nice. Then I get the baby down for the night and wadda ya know? She barks and wakes him up again. Do they have doggie boarding school? Is it wrong to want to send my woof-baby off to one? Because she’s more than I can handle right now. And the bad thing about it is that she really is a pretty laid back and lax dog.

And if I can’t handle a baby and dog, how would I ever handle a baby and a dog and then another baby??? Not that that’s in the works anytime soon. Believe me. When I was pregnant with z-baby I was so so so sick the whole time. I would wonder then how I would ever take care of a baby when I couldn’t even get up off the couch or feed myself. Well that’s all passed and while I don’t think I’m winning any mom of the year awards here, we’re doing ok. So I’m hoping that all this postpartum depression, anxiety, and OCD is like the morning sickness, and that this, too, shall pass. Then I’ll be able to take care of more than one kid and a dog without sending any of them off to boarding school.

Leave a Reply

