Now’s not the time…or is it?

17 Apr

A while back, when I was probably at my lowest point with postpartum depression, my doc told me to hold tight, that it wasn’t the time for major changes. So I waited and secretly planned for changes anyway. And while it wasn’t what the doc ordered, I think it’s the best decision I’ve made in a long time. Ultimately, only time will tell, but I’ve been feeling better this week now that the changes are really starting to take action. Moving to a new city, rented our house, rented us a house, got a mover, almost entirely packed the house (thanks to sig-o), got the utility change-overs settled, and after much deliberation, quitting my job. I had given notice, but they asked me to stay and so I did for a while, but I’ve had enough and I don’t want all the changes we’re making to be tainted by old frustrations. Last week my anxiety had been through the roof and my doc gave me something to help me through the move. But it took me a few days to even the get the medicine and by the time I got it, I haven’t felt like I’ve needed — I’ve only taken it once. And yet I’ve been feeling great. I won’t say relaxed, but certainly more chill than I was. Which just makes me think that regardless of having postpartum depression or not, we know what’s best for us. And it’s up to us, and only us, to make decisions and take action to make our lives into what we want and what we need. I’m not saying it’s easy to do make changes, no matter how significant, but it could be just as important as the therapy, meds, etc… that we do to battle postpartum depression and anxiety. It’s all about taking care of ourselves and following our own intuition in the process. That’s what I’m trying to do, and so far…so good.

One Response to “Now’s not the time…or is it?”

  1. Kimberly April 19, 2010 at 6:28 am #

    Yea!!! Good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

