Where are the chains?

26 Apr

Tonight is my last night in our house before we make the big move. New city. New jobs. New life. Of course I’ve got some postpartum baggage I’m carrying along, but I’m hoping this move will prove to be cathartic in that arena, as well. So how am I feeling these days? Well, the moving part sucks! I moved around A LOT as a kid and this is the longest I’ve ever lived anywhere, so it’s emotionally different and GEEZ where did all this stuff come from??? Other than that I’m looking forward to the change with one exception — it’s really, really, really hard to leave friends behind this time. It’s never been much of an issue for me before, but now that I have a really great friend, part of me fully expects me to chain myself to my house’s front column tomorrow when the movers show up. A couple of friends came over with dinner tonight and I balled like a big baby when they left. I keep telling myself that with all of today’s technology, it will be easy to keep in touch, but that doesn’t make the sting any better. So ta-ta for now… my next post will be from our new place.

Leave a Reply

