Foodie Friday: Creamy Spinach Pasta

17 Mar

In the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day this week (a pretty big deal in these parts…), I give you some green goodness.

One day when we lived in Mexico, I had a bunch of fresh poblano chiles and a craving for pasta. So I created Creamy Poblano Pasta, which has become a permanent member of the family recipe box. The other day I was stuck at home with no car and was low on groceries. I contemplated walking to the store, but decided I could pull together a dinner with the few things I had on hand: pasta, cream, and spinach. Z-baby is an avid pasta eater (read: food jag) so I thought that as an added bonus, I might get some veggies into him. But alas, no such luck.

Creamy Spinach Pasta

  • Spinach, about 4 big handfuls
  • 1/2 sm onion, chopped
  • Garlic to taste
  • ~1 cup cream (I’ve used Mexican cream, heavy cream, sour cream)
  • Pasta (I used spaghetti)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, or more to taste

While pasta is cooking, steam or saute spinach with chopped onion and garlic.

Saute Spinach

It's a tight squeeze on my tiny stove

In a blender or with a hand mixer, puree spinach with the cream. Add small amount of olive oil to pan. When heated, add spinach puree and cook for several minutes, stirring frequently. Add more cream as needed. Add sauce to drained pasta and mix until well-coated. If sauce is still too thick, add small amount of water that pasta was cooked in to thin little by little (this may be especially necessary if you use sour cream). Stir in parmesan cheese until well-incorporated.

Add spinach sauce

Add pureed spinach to pasta

Stir in spinach puree

Top with additional parmesan or romano cheese for serving.

Creamy Spinach Pasta

Bad pic, but yummy pasta!

I think I liked the poblano pasta better, but this will certainly do in a pinch.

Leave a Reply

