Are you smarter than a 5th grader?

30 Mar

Yesterday we drove 2 1/2 hours to the closest U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) office so that sig-o could get officially fingerprinted for what seems like the 89th time now. Luckily it went smoothly and so now we wait… and study.

The waiting we’re good at. Three years to get a visa to get married in the US and then a lot more waiting to get permanent residency taught us a lot about life. How could it not? We were but wee little things at the time. Looking back on it, I’m amazed at 1) how time flies for real, and 2) how lucky we were… it could have turned out much differently. And a decade’s worth of wisdom has taught me that everything would have been just as fine if he had been denied and we were still living in Mexico. I mean, we’ll probably be living there again in a few years anyways.

While we wait for this interview (for citizenship), sig-o has to get prepared to take the exams. They have recently been overhauled and standardized. The first is reading, writing, and speaking English. Sig-o will have no problem with this. Then there’s the civics test. A possible 100 questions, you get asked 10, and you have to answer 6 correctly to pass. It’s basic stuff, really. But I will admit I didn’t get all of them right. Shame on me, I know. So I couldn’t remember who wrote the Federalist Papers. Or the exact year the constitution was written. I’m not worried… I’m still pretty sure I’m smarter than a 5th grader. And besides, I’m not the one who has to take the test. And luckily, sig-o knows a lot more about US history than I do about Mexican civics. Again, shame on me! So maybe I’m not smarter than a 5th grader after all… at least not in Mexico. 🙂

Study guide

In case you’re wondering, the Federalist Papers were written by James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and Publius. The constitution was written in 1787.

2 Responses to “Are you smarter than a 5th grader?”

  1. mamamezzo April 2, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Crap! I would have said John Adams on the Federalist Papers question. Bummer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Please dress appropriately « The Vaca Loca - April 16, 2011

    […] has been progressing quickly — we sent in the application at the end of February, and he was fingerprinted just a couple of weeks ago. This week we were shocked to find his interview appointment letter in […]

Leave a Reply

