Say what?

31 Mar

When I started this blog, I only told two people about it: sig-o and my sister. My sister has had full access to it from the beginning, whereas sig-o only reads it if I ask him to. They’re still the only ones who know about it.

When thinking of what to name the blog, The Vaca Loca immediately came to mind. Loca? Because I felt like I was absolutely losing it at the time due to the postpartum depression. Vaca? Because sometimes (and sometimes still) I felt like that was all I was and all I was good for — a dairy cow, lactating for little z-baby. The Vaca Loca? Well, it was also a little shout out to Manu Chao (me likey mucho!). I knew my husband got it, and I thought I had told my sister what it meant, too (she doesn’t speak Spanish). But maybe not…

The other day I was talking to my sister on the phone and z-baby came up and wanted me to read him a book in Spanish. There was a picture of a cow so I asked him, “¿Qué dice la vaca?” He responded with a cute little, “Muuuuuuuu.” My sister said, “Wait, what did you just say?” I said, “Vaca. You know, like my blog.” There was a long pause. Turns out she thought my blog was called The Vacay Loca, as in the crazy vacation.. And I get it. It never would have dawned on me, but I get it. And I thought that was cute.

Even cuter though was when she visited for Christmas. Z-baby calls all his aunts tía regardless of whether they speak English or Spanish. So one day my sister finally asks, “Why do you all keep talking about tortillas all the time?” It took me a second but then it hit me… we kept saying things like, “Lleva la bolsa a tu tía… Dale un beso a tu tía… Este vaso es de tu tía…” Said fast enough and enough times and yeah, it sounds like we’re obsessed with tortillas! I had to laugh. (Love ya sis! And rest assured that I’m laughing with you!)

Anyway, it made me laugh, so I thought I’d share it with blogdom. We have bilingual mix-ups and blunders with the family all the time… and with a toddler who is talking more and more every day, we’re sure to have a lot more to come.

7 Responses to “Say what?”

  1. mommysparadise April 2, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Hey, this is so funny, I like the story with the tortillas. My little one 2 1/2 yo is growing up multilingual too, swiss (me), english (Hubs) and creol (the rest of the people here) but mainly he was using swiss and english. Only lately he starts using some ‘pick up lines’ he picked up somewhere (from male friends of Hubs). I am not entirely sure if I like this, but it’s cute though.

  2. livingbeyondmyself April 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I love this blog. The sad part is that I was so serious in my thought process! but if you think about it…it kind of has been a crazy vacation!!

    • danygrl April 3, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Has it ever! Thanks for being a good sport 😉

  3. Chantilly Patiño April 26, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    Haha! This is too funny! This is so true…lol! I’ve also gotten the “tortilla” comment from my sister! Lol! Cute! 😉

    • danygrl April 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks! Who would have thought tortillas could be so confusing 🙂

  4. Tara Castillo April 26, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I loved this post! So cute! We have moments like this regularly in our home. I laugh a lot!
    Loved the tortilla story. My son calls his uncle (my brother) Tio and he doesn’t speak any spanish. Now, it would seem strange if my son tried to call him uncle….

    • danygrl April 26, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you — I’m always thrilled when other families like us can relate!

Leave a Reply

