It’s a Fiesta!

1 Apr

Ultimate Blog Party 2011

I am so excited that I just serendipitously ran across 5 Minutes for Mom and their Ultimate Blog Party 2011!Β And the party started today so I’m actually not late to something for a change.

So for those of you blog hopping your way through the fiesta (yee-haw!), welcome to The Vaca Loca! I started this blog after I was diagnosed with postpartum depression/anxiety/OCD in an attempt to document what it really feels like (for me, at least). I hoped that other moms going through the same thing could relate and know that they’re not alone and that things will get better.

Now that I am feeling better, I’ve been working on re-inventing The Vaca Loca. I still blog about what it’s like to live with the remnants of postpartum depression, but I also write about being a stay-at-home mom to a 2-year old and life in a bi-cultural family. I offer happy thoughts on Mondays and recipes on Fridays. And really, when I sit down to blog, I never know what I’ll be writing about until it starts oozing out. Wanna know more? I must have known, because I recently posted this.

So pull up a chair and stay as long as you’d like. I’d offer you something to drink, but all I have in the fridge is a trickle of whole milk. And let’s face it, I’d just be setting myself up for an early-morning meltdown if I gave away z-baby’s last bit of leche for his cereal.

I’d love to hear from you and look forward to hopping over to your blog, too. Now go get your fiesta on!

26 Responses to “It’s a Fiesta!”

  1. AlishaJaybird April 1, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Howdy! Found you via the Blog Party. Nice to find someone else who doesn’t think before blogging. πŸ™‚ If you overplan, (haha! IF you have time!) it doesn’t seem real, does it? Poop on those planners! I shall never change!
    I’m a mom of 3 boys, so that should explain the craziness. I’m going to poke around your place a bit, feel free to drop in at mine. πŸ™‚ Happy UBP11!!

    • danygrl April 1, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Here, here! I’m headed over to your blog now… I love getting to be a voyeur (and, you know, not get in trouble for it!) πŸ™‚

  2. Linda @ My Name is Momma April 1, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Welcome to the PARTY!! WOO HOO : )

    • danygrl April 1, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      Thanks — this is fun!!

  3. Susan April 2, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    So glad you stopped by and said hello! I went back into your archives and read your first post – and you’re right, it sounds like we’re coming from similar places. =) Glad to have found a kindrid spirit a la UBP! I ended up diagnosed with GAD and mood swings after my PPD and PPA lifted, so now I find all my posts have a hint of mental health or self-therapy in them. I guess that’s the gift of therapy, huh? You can’t stop thinking like a therapist. Maybe it’s just me.
    Anywho…It was so nice to meet you. I added you to my google reader and I hope we can keep in touch!

    • danygrl April 2, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. I know what you mean about the therapy. When I started blogging again I thought was done talking about PPD but it keeps creeping in there… guess I’m still processing it, too πŸ™‚ See ya around soon!

  4. Shae Brackin-Stanfield April 2, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    It’s nice to “meet” someone from so close by. We’re actually about 40 minutes from each other. I can’t wait to catch up on & read your blog!

    • danygrl April 2, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Glad you could stop by! Hope Jubal is feeling better. I know that feeling… it’s awful watching them go through that stuff!

  5. mamamezzo April 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I love the name of your blog! And I’m so glad you’re feeling better. Happy to have found you through UBP!

    • danygrl April 2, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Thank you! I’m heading over to check out your blog now. See you soon!

  6. mommysparadise April 2, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Hi, it’s me again, I’ve been snooping around a bit and I like your blog, will have to come back for more. CU

    • danygrl April 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      Yeah, I’m so happy to hear that! That’s funny about the pick up lines. Sometimes we’re not sure if z-baby is trying to speak English, Spanish, or just plain toddler-ese!

  7. OneMommy April 2, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my site from the UBP! I love getting to meet all the new bloggers! Have a great week!

  8. kassie April 3, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Hey thanks for stopping by!! Your blog sounds really interesting, I’m glad I found you. πŸ™‚

  9. livingbeyondmyself April 3, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Hey sis, I love that you are getting to know people on your block party. I’m happy for you and your new adventures that I get to read about all the time! Love ya

    • danygrl April 3, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      πŸ™‚ I always know you’re my biggest fan!

  10. Tracy April 3, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Stopping by from the UBP. I’m so glad to hear that you’ve kicked postpartum depression to the curb. It seems so prevalent these days. Here’s to more and more brighter days for you and your family!

    Cheers,
    Tracy All Thumbs Crafts

    • danygrl April 4, 2011 at 12:19 am #

      Thanks so much. Loved your blog — I may send some “lazy” recipes your way, too!

  11. Branson April 4, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Thanks so much for the visit! I am excited to look around your blog! It is so fun and simple… I love the look. Now off to read some more writing! πŸ™‚

    • danygrl April 3, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      Thank you — so glad you like it!

  12. Amie April 4, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Thanks for stopping by! It’s always nice to know you aren’t the only one suffering from potpartum depression and how others handle it.

    • danygrl April 4, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      So glad you could stop by! Yes, I think we have to stick together to know we’re not alone and that it can get better. Take care!

  13. Melinda April 4, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Hey – a glass of water is fine! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

  14. Robin@The Sweetest Pear April 4, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by! I will be back to visit, especially for the recipes!

  15. Dayngr April 17, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    Hello!

    I’m still surfing blogs from the #UBP11 – Can you believe it? I know!

    I’m hoping to meet some great new blogger buddies and check out some amazing blogs that will motivate and and inspire. I hope you’ll swing by my blog too and subscribe if you like what you see/read.

    Ciao for now!
    -@Dayngr

    • danygrl April 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by — I look forward to hopping over to site and checking it out!

Leave a Reply

