Foodie Friday: Fruit Pizza

8 Apr

It’s been one of those weeks… an ER visit with z-baby, an emergency vet visit with the dog last night for a possible poisoning (by a neighbor, no less!), grandparents visiting, a surprise in-law visit, family bickering that goes along with an extended visit (ugh!), and two birthdays. So with all that going on, I thought this would be a nice, simple recipe to share. It doesn’t get easier than this. Oh, I did find time to go pick another bucket of strawberries, though! When does this cross over to an obsession? 🙂

Fruit pizza is a fun and oh-so-easy recipe you can wow the kids with. It’s also great for potlucks and parties. I think it would be beautiful to make little cookie-size pizzas, too.

Fruit Pizza

Fruit Pizza

Fruit Pizza

Crust: Sugar cookie dough (either homemade or 1 pkg prepared). It’s so easy to make the homemade dough, but I used a prepared package this time. It’s easiest to use a round pan with a lip — you just mash the dough into the pan until it’s fully spread out. Otherwise, chill dough and roll out into one large, round cookie. Bake at 350 degrees. I like a softer cookie, so I catch it just as the edges are starting to turn golden.

Cookie dough

Cookie dough before baking

Sauce (icing): Mix together 8 ounces cream cheese, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Blend until creamy and smooth. I find I have to use a hand mixer to get it this creamy. Once cookie is cool, Spread icing evenly over cookie, leaving about a 1/2 to 1/4 inch for the crust.

Fruit: Decorate top of pizza with sliced fruit. You can scatter it across haphazardly or arrange it piece by piece. I always arrange, and no two ever turn out the same. The possibilities are endless, of course, but here is a list of fruit that works well. I just used what I had on hand this time. You can even drizzle melted chocolate over the top of the fruit. You can put a lot more fruit on if you wish… I was multi-tasking while I made this (catching up with an old friend on the phone and managing a fussy toddler) so I just threw it together as I went.

  • Strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries
  • Kiwi
  • Grapes
  • Mandarin oranges
  • Pineapple
  • Banana
  • Peaches
  • Pomegranate
Fruit Pizza

A masterpiece (with so little effort!)

Leave a Reply

