Foodie Friday: Baked Stuffed Chicken

15 Apr

It’s been a busy week, with grandparents visiting, ER and vet ER visits, and an unexpected in-laws visit mixed in. But I did manage to snap a few photos as I fixed dinner for everyone one night. The photos aren’t great, but heh, I never promised they would be!

******

Ever since we’ve been together, sig-o has told me how much he loves chicken cordon bleu. Mind you, he never orders it anywhere and I’ve never seen him eat it. But he brings it up every so often and I’ll make a mental note to try and make it… and then I promptly forget. Finally a few months ago I came up with this variation on a theme of chicken cordon bleu. It’s so simple and sig-o was happy with the result. In the end, does anything else really matter? Nah… The variations for this recipe are endless, by the way. I’ve also made it stuffed with spinach and feta and that turned out fabulous!

Note – I’m not big on measurements when I cook (unless I’m baking), so my recipes can be vague sometimes. I’ll do my best here, but feel free to shoot me a question anytime!

******

Baked Stuffed Chicken

  • 6 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (or more or less)
  • 2 eggs
  • Fine bread crumbs
  • Salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder
  • Ham slices
  • Swiss cheese

Place bread crumbs in a shallow dish or bowl. Season with salt, pepper, about a tsp of paprika and garlic powder to taste. Beat eggs in another bowl and place side-by-side.

egg and breadcrumbs

Slice chicken breasts down the middle until filleted open, leaving a hinge along one side.

filleted chicken

Place one slice of cheese and one slice of ham on chicken and fold closed.

ham and cheese

Dip filled chicken in the beaten egg until well-coated.

chicken in egg

Roll coated chicken in breadcrumbs until well-coated. Shake off excess breadcrumbs and place on baking pan (I cover mine in aluminum foil). Repeat for all chicken breasts. Lightly spray tops of chicken breasts with cooking spray (the cooking spray makes it a little crispier on top).

chicken in breadcrumbs

spray with pam

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until chicken is done.

in the ovenEnjoy!

chicken's all done

4 Responses to “Foodie Friday: Baked Stuffed Chicken”

  1. Babygirl April 16, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    With everything going on, you definitely made a very delicious dish. This stuffed chicken looks amazing. I haven’t had stuffed chicken in so long. Thanks for posting this because I will be making this soon.

    • danygrl April 16, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      So glad I could inspire! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Tara Castillo April 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Loving ur blog! Have got so much to catch up on!! Will have to come back and read more hopefully Friday…. (it’s a super busy week!)
    Can’t wait…. until then…

    • danygrl April 28, 2011 at 3:09 am #

      I’m so happy to hear that! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

