Foodie Friday: Superman Bread

29 Apr

Toddlers, by nature, are picky eaters, but I think I have the world’s pickiest one. It’s baffling to me, really, how my husband and I — arguably some of the world’s least picky eaters — wound up with this choosy this guy… but I suppose it’s yet another of life’s lessons in patience for us.

At just over 2 years old, z-baby will eat: some breakfast cereals with milk, yogurt, pasta with parmesan, tortillas (corn and flour), rice, bread, animal crackers, corn on the cob, dried cranberries, and smoothies. On rare (sometimes very rare) occasions he will eat apples, sopa aguada (a Mexican pasta soup), and peanut butter. And he never refuses a sweet treat offered to him by his grandmas… it’s as if he can smell the sugar and accepts the treat before he’s even seen it. Nutritionally speaking, my only comfort is that he still nurses.

So in an attempt to sneak some more veggies into his diet (in addition to smoothies), I’ve been trying out some breads. I found a recipe that looked great on paper but bombed big time. So I’ve turned to my grandmother’s basic zucchini bread recipe and adapted it a bit. There’s a lot of extras and variations I plan on trying, but for today I wanted to stick to the basic recipe and just change a couple of things to see how it works. I call this Superman Bread, because you can really pack in the veggies and good stuff… which hopefully balances out the bit of sugar in it!

******

Superman Bread

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (instead of zucchini I used 2 shredded carrots and 2+ cups very finely chopped raw kale)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. flax meal (also my addition)

Beat eggs. Add sugar, vanilla, oil, and vegetables and mix well.

Stirring eggs and sugar

Wet ingredients before adding the veggies

In a separate bowl, sift together the dry ingredients.

Measuring flour

Measuring and sifting flour

Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir together.

Stirring in the flour

Stirring is hard work!

Pour into greased loaf pans and bake at 350°F for approximately 45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Before baking

Superman bread, before baking

After baking

Superman bread, after baking

Slice of superman bread

You can see, but not taste, the veggies!

Additional changes I’ll be trying in the future to up both the nutrition and appeal:

  • maybe pureeing the veggies instead of shredding
  • whole wheat flour
  • wheat germ
  • mashed bananas
  • raisins and cranberries
  • Spinach, zucchini, sweet potatoes
  • substitute sugar for agave nectar
  • chocolate chips for a special treat!
2 Responses to “Foodie Friday: Superman Bread”

  1. Tara Castillo May 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Mmmmm! Thanks for posting! I want to try it. It looks very yummy!!!

    • danygrl May 2, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      Thanks and I hope you like it. I’ll probably keep playing with this recipe until I get just what I’m looking for. I’ll update if I ever find it!

Leave a Reply

