800 days

6 May

800 days. Even.

It has been exactly 800 days since z-baby was born. And in those 800 days, we have been separated for no longer than 12 hours.

But tonight, for the very first time, he is sleeping over at my mother’s. His first sleepover.

He helped me pack his bag and reminded me over and over again not to forget his hat. He was so excited as he rolled his bag up to the door. He gave me a little kiss, said, “Bye, Momma!” and was off to play.

It pained me to leave him… and I kept myself busy this evening so that I wouldn’t think about it. But after sig-o got home and we started winding down for the evening, it hit me again.

I miss my baby. I may have cried a little. And I’ve been fighting the overwhelming urge to go over there just to be close to him.

I know he’s with my mother, but I feel like he’s all by himself. He’s still such a baby (only 800 days old!) and I’m still not ready to share him.

Sig-o says he’s just a part of my life, but not all of it… and that I’m not his whole life, either. But I want to be. For now, at least. Is that soooo wrong?

5 Responses to “800 days”

  1. Susan May 7, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Hip hip hooray for sleepovers at grandparents’! I know it’ll be hard, but try to really enjoy your time. It’s so good for both of you…He gets to learn that he’s alright depending on someone else. You get some time to just be you. And getting a chance to miss each other? Priceless. I love a good toddler reunion. Seriously.

    • danygrl May 9, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      It’s true… thanks for the encouragement! The reunion was good. I think we’re still in a honeymoon phase and it’s been 3 days!

  2. Mommy's Paradise May 8, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    Ough, and how was it? I just figured out that my boy just made his 1000 days and he never ever was apart from me longer than 6 or 7 hr. And I think I’ll still have to wait a little longer until he’s having his first sleep over. But I am so looking forward. I don’t think I miss him just for one night, especialy when I know he’s with my mother in law and his aunties. I hope ;-).

    • danygrl May 9, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Well, we survived! I should say that he did just fine and I pulled through with relatively little emotional damage! He only woke up once crying and my mom was able to get him back to sleep easily. Hopefully it will be easier for me next time 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Evolution « The Vaca Loca - August 7, 2011

    […] out of me one day (that’s a post for another day)!!! He had his first sleepover with grandma (our first night apart!), which was his first night ever that he didn’t nurse. And just very recently did I hit the […]

Leave a Reply

