Foodie Friday: Wilton Basic Cake Decorating (Class Two)

15 Jul

My mom and I have wanted to take a class together for some time now, and we  both love being in the kitchen. So when we saw a cake decorating class was about to begin, we jumped at the chance.

I love to bake. But I could certainly use some help in the decorating department. Remember z-baby’s Choo Choo Birthday Cake? I loved this cake, but um… yeah.

So we enrolled and started our Wilton Basic Cake Decorating class last week. In the first class we decorated sugar cookies. But we were so rushed we only got through two of them and then sig-o attacked them when I got home so I never got a chance to take pictures.

This week, however, we decorated our first cake. We had to bake the cake and make the icing ahead of time. I was having one of those days in the kitchen, which was a rough start. I had already decided to just use a box cake to keep things simple, but I used a different pan than I normally do and it turned out awful. Lopsided and flat. Ugh. Quick trip to the store and rebaked another cake that turned out great. Geez! Then I added 8 tablespoons of water instead of teaspoons to the icing. Oops. Luckily I was able to just pour it off the vegetable shortening and start over. Which leads me to the Wilton Buttercream Icing recipe (I used water instead of milk, as suggested by our instructor). I know its a decorating icing, but yuck! I’m making it for the class and then I’ll be experimenting with other icings that will work as well but that actually taste good.

But back to the decorating.

Z-baby saw a cupcake cake in my course guide and went crazy over it. So I made the cupcake cake and my mom made the fish cake. I was most excited about learning how to make the icing on the cake as crazy smooth as it looks in the Wilton book. Yeah right. And then I thought the class ended at 8pm instead of 8:30pm, so I decorated my cake in 10 minutes flat. I was piping like a crazy woman. So I then spent the last half hour adding dots to it… which is why there are soooo many.

This is what the cake was supposed to look like.

Wilton Cupcake Cake

See what I mean? Crazy smooth!

And this is what my cake actually looked like.

My Cupcake Cake

The 10-minute Cupcake Cake

This is my mom’s cake. I thought it turned out really cute. Notice her restraint with the dots. 🙂

Mom's Fish Cake

Mom's Fish Cake

It’s a start and I learned some things and we had a lot of fun. Next time we decorate cupcakes, which I already baked yesterday and stuck in the freezer for next week. And then I have to design something fun for my final cake. Hmmmm…

Leave a Reply

